Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

True story: I sprain my wrist thrillingly

leave a comment »

Totally true conversation I had in a store selling interior decor, while wearing a wrist brace:

Shopkeep: Hi, welcome.

Me: Thanks.

Shopkeep: Oh, how did you hurt your hand?

Me: Well, I don’t think I should admit that I sprained my wrist by reading too much.  So instead, I’ll tell you that I hurt it while I was fighting ninjas.  You see, the ninjas had kidnapped a basket full of kittens, and I had to rescue them…

Shopkeep:  Oh, what kind of kittens?

Me: Um.  Siamese.

Shopkeep:  Oh, how cute!  I like kittens.  I’d like to get one.

Me: Um.  I didn’t really hurt myself fighting ninjas.  There weren’t really any kittens.  I just sprained it.

Shopkeep: Huh?  (Looks confused, backs away nervously.)

Me: (backs away nervously also)

Written by Contented Reader

July 27, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Posted in True stories

Comment

