Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Cross-stitch: “May Cthulhu Eat This House Last”

with 2 comments

My friend bought a charming old house, which looks like this:

I was excited and happy for her, and I made her a housewarming gift, a cross-stitch piece which turned out like this:

I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.  Yes, I’m aware that a good, ardent, really devoted Cthulhu cultist would be praying to be eaten FIRST when Cthlulhu rises from the ocean.  However, this version seemed to make slightly more sense to a casual visitor unfamiliar with the inevitability of the rise of the great old ones, and also, my friend and I aren’t really devoted Cthulhu cultists.  We’re more sort of Christmas-and-Easter Cthulhu cultists, you know?

I don’t suppose the charts for this will be very useful to anyone else, since it’s kind of specific to my own friend’s house.  But I suppose you could change the colors, move the windows and door around, and turn it into someone else’s house, and it is my personal tradition to share charts when I can, so I’ll publish the chart here for other people to use.  Feel free to copy and share it, and to make things from it, but please don’t sell the chart or the things you make from it without asking me.  If you change it into something cool, I’d love to see what you do with it.  Just click on the charts, and they should blow up to a size you can work with.

                                                                                                    Creative Commons License
May Cthulhu Eat This House First by Heather Murphy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at contentedreader.files.wordpress.com.

Written by Contented Reader

July 30, 2011 at 8:36 am

Posted in Needlework

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your pattern is absolutely brilliant. I really really loved the sentence, and I used it to make something slightly different.
    I made a tutorial out of my pattern and I have credited you : http://www.instructables.com/id/May-Cthulhu-eat-this-house-last-cross-stitch/

    Thank you so much for the inspiration.

    Scarlett

    July 5, 2012 at 1:42 pm


Comment

