Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Another way to spend Sunday mornings

with 2 comments

If I am finished with church, because the annoying nonexistence of God makes church seem less fulfilling than it once did, then I have a chunk of free time available, don’t I?

I don’t really know how people who don’t go to church spend their Sunday mornings.  But I’m in the habit of spending mine in thoughtful contemplation and the search for wisdom, and that seems like a habit that is worth retaining.

I’m thinking that Sunday morning would be a good time for slow, thoughtful reading of the kinds of books that lend themselves to contemplation and wisdom, the ones that I don’t always make time for.  Philosophy.  Science.  Classics.  

I see myself reading slowly, thinking about what I’m reading, pausing for reflection, not worrying about when I’ll finish, putting the book aside to pick up again next Sunday.

I’m already partway through A.C. Grayling’s The Good Book: A Humanist Bible, which is a sort of anthology of wisdom writing of the past, so I started there, and spent this morning reading part of the ‘Histories’ section, stories about the wars of the ancient Greeks.

I think that using Sunday mornings for this kind of reading would be a good way to preserve the positive part of a very old habit.  It’s miserably hot right now, but on days when the weather is pleasant, I could even take my book to a park to read, which would be, I think, a very nice way to spend a Sunday morning.

Written by Contented Reader

July 31, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Posted in Opinions

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m guessing the God you think doesn’t exist is the same God I think doesn’t exist, but I don’t have the option of choosing whether to go to church or not. In a way I enjoy the challenge of thinking of the hymns and the Bible stories in a whole new way and trying to tease new meaning out od them. Granted some are simply unredeemable. I wonder how you like “The Good Book”. It looks like something I would enjoy.
    Peace, Suzanne

    Suzanne Fountaine

    August 13, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  2. I think you’d like “The Good Book.” There’s a lot of very good stuff there to think about. The author synthesizes his many sources, so even though it’s made of a lot of books, it reads like one book. (Sort of like that other well-known Bible, he’d say). I recognized Epictetus and Confucius for sure. You do have to sort of let go of the desire to know which sources wrote which passages, though.

    Contented Reader

    August 13, 2011 at 2:01 pm


Comment

