Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Fright Night

leave a comment »

I just got back from seeing “Fright Night.”  My expectations were pretty low, which probably helped, but I thought it was pretty entertaining, in a low-mental-energy-required, it-helps-if-you’re-sixteen sort of way.

I suppose you’re expecting me to say that David Tennant was the high point, as the alcoholic David-Copperfield-style Vegas magician with the skin-tight leather pants, the vampire-costumed showgirls, and the palatial penthouse full of occult weaponry?  And I suppose you’ll expect me to squee like a fangirl over his fuzzy, shirtless chest, so lovingly displayed to the audience, and his hilarious performance?

All right, all right.  Squee.  Are you happy?

I actually thought that Anton Yelchin did a pretty good job of acting, considering that this was a movie that doesn’t, technically, require acting.  I mean, I’ve seen plenty of movies with this approximate plot (Hello.  I’m a teenager, and vampires want to kill my hot girlfriend.  Let’s set shit on fire.) which did just fine with no one acting in them at all.  But nevertheless, Yelchin does decide to act, and it’s to the movie’s benefit.

I checked Yelchin’s Wikipedia page.  Apparently he is famous for being in a bunch of things I haven’t seen, and also for playing Chekov in the new Star Trek movie, which I did see, once, and vaguely remember noticing him doing a more plausible Russian accent than Walter Koenig.  Oddly (according to Wikipedia again), Koenig was actually the son of Russian immigrants, so you’d think he could do a better Russian accent, wouldn’t you?  Maybe his accent was perfect for the part of Russia his parents were from, and I’m just ignorant about Russian accents.

Where was I?  Right, just home from “Fright Night.”

It probably won’t shock you to hear that the director makes use of the 3D to do lots of blood-spurting-right-into-the-theatre sorts of effects, and why not?  But its gory scenes were reminiscent of the horror movies I used to watch in the 80s, not the highly disturbing level of gruesomeness that makes me sort of avoid contemporary horror movies that aren’t made by Guillermo del Toro.  In fact, it’s not hard to find the influence of this movie’s predecessor; the whole thing, despite its cell phones and “Twilight” jokes, would be perfectly at home in a movie theater in 1987.

So, sure, go see it, if you have two hours and twelve bucks to kill.  Don’t expect anything more than a moderately entertaining teenage vampire thriller, and you’ll probably be pleasantly surprised to find yourself having a little more fun than you expected.

Written by Contented Reader

August 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Posted in Reviews

Comment

