Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Pleasure in reading

leave a comment »

I have so much less time to read, now that school has started.  And I feel it- tired and stiff from being on my feet all day on hard classroom floors, my mind full of papers to grade and standardized tests and the personalities of students.

And I am finding that, now that my reading time is so limited, it gives me more pleasure.  In the summer, it’s a way to pass the time on the long, lazy days.  But now it’s a lifeline, the great pleasure of my day, even when I have to snatch my time in minutes rather than hours.

I get up earlier than I need to, so I can spend a half-hour with a good book and a glass of iced tea, and that half hour is a little oasis of peace and contentment at the start of my day.  And I brush my teeth and put on my jammies at the end of the day and have a half-hour before bed, back in the book.  Those two half-hours in the library boookend my day with pleasure.

Unwatched television is backing up on my DVR.  I’ve only managed to watch the first disc of season five of “Dexter,” lent to me by a friend and eagerly awaited for many months.  When I have that spare time, I do sometimes spend it in front of the television, but I’m more likely to eagerly scuttle away to my library to read.

The noise and motion and activity of my days makes me treasure the pleasure of reading, much more than when I had all the time in world for reading.  The peace I get from reading holds me together.

Written by Contented Reader

August 27, 2011 at 8:52 am

Posted in Opinions

Comment

