Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

New and updated this week on Project Gutenberg

leave a comment »

I don’t understand why anyone pays money for e-books.  Honestly.  There are more than enough e-books free on Project Gutenberg to entertain and instruct a person until he or she dies, wise and happy.  Here are some of the ones added or updated this week that I thought might be worth a look.

  • The Poetical Works of Elizabeth Barrett Browning, volume 1
  • The Wanderer, or, Female Difficulties, by Fanny Burney, volumes 1, 2, 34, and 5.  I read Burney’s Evelina in college, and liked it.  Burney was, if I remember correctly, the first woman to make her living as a writer.
  • The Sin of Monsieur Pettipon, and other Humorous Tales, by Richard Connell.  You know Richard Connell.  You read his short story, “The Most Dangerous Game,” in high school.  We all did.  I think it’s in every high school literature textbook ever published.  Here’s a collection from him.  Did you know he worked for the Harvard Lampoon?
  • Scientific Culture, and Other Essays, by Josiah Parsons Cooke.  A distinguished Harvard chemist, Cooke was known, among other things, for his interest in the relationships between science and religion.
  • How We Think, by John Dewey.  Hate him or admire him, it’s hard to deny that a lot of what American education is today is directly related to John Dewey’s thoughts.
  • Some Imagist Poets, 1916.  Now that’s an anthology title I respect.  No ‘year’s best,’ just ‘some poets.’  There are some good poets in here, too – HD, Amy Lowell, DH Lawrence, and some names I don’t recognize, too.
  • The Barber of Paris, by Charles Paul de Kock.  I know his name because Molly Bloom was reading one of his books, at the beginning of Ulysses.  “Nice name he has,” she said.
  • The Strange Story Book, by Mrs. Andrew Lang.  According to the preface, this is the last volume of Lang’s fabulous collection of story books.  I loved ‘The Blue Fairy Book,” as a kid.  Okay, I admit it- as a teenager, old enough to buy my own books out of the Dover catalog, back when book ordering took place out of paper catalogs sent through the mail.  Of everything I’ve lost to the Internet revolution, I think I might miss the Dover catalog the most.
  • The Tangled Skein, by Baroness Emmuska Orczy.  This is the author who wrote the unmissable Scarlet Pimpernel books.  You didn’t miss them, did you?
Written by Contented Reader

September 20, 2011 at 7:06 am

Posted in Project Gutenberg

Comment

