Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Kitty and the Midnight Hour

leave a comment »

Kitty and the Midnight Hour

Carrie Vaughn

Grand Central

Now, that hit the spot.

Between getting ready to meet the deadline for Hugo voting and the books on my ‘read me soon’ shelf, I’ve been reading a lot of Very Serious Literary-type SF lately.  And I like Very Serious Books, don’t get me wrong.  You’re talking to a person who read The Pale King and thought it was life-changing.  However.  Today, I didn’t want to read anything very serious at all.  I wanted a story that unfolded in order.  I wanted prose whose main purpose was to communicate the events of the story in a clear, straightforward, entertaining way- not to dazzle me with feats of literary prowess.  I wanted to be amused.

And it’s good that I happened to have read a short story by Carrie Vaughn, loved it, looked her up online, and discovered her series of urban fantasy novels about Kitty Norville, a werewolf with a supernatural radio call-in show.  This book probably didn’t get nominated for a Hugo, a Nebula, or the National Book Award, but it was fun to read.  I spent a few happy hours on the sofa, with a glass of iced tea and a bunch of werewolves and vampires getting angry with each other in an entertaining way, and I’m glad.

Now, off the the library to put the second book on hold.  I see that there are lots of books about Kitty Norville.  That’s good.

Written by Contented Reader

July 21, 2012 at 8:37 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

