Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

How To Watch the Olympics

leave a comment »

How to Watch the Olympics: The Essential Guide to the Rules, Statistics, Heroes, and Zeroes of Every Sport

David Goldblatt and Johnny Acton

Penguin

I am so ready for the Olympics to begin.

On Friday, my friend, my girlfriend, and I are going to drink Pimm’s and watch the opening ceremonies.

I have reprogrammed the ‘favorites’ buttons on my cable remote so that I can effortlessly cycle through the various NBC channels that will be showing Olympic events.

I have bookmarked both the official Olympic web site and the NBC television schedule web site, so I can have easy answers to questions like, ‘When is the pentathlon?’ and ‘Who won silver in the women’s weightlifting?’

I have plans to simply leave the television on for the next two weeks in a never-ending celebration of the human spirit, exhibited through the world’s best athletes.

Of course, I’m old enough to have lived through a reasonable number of Olympics before.  So I know that in practice, I’ll probably get bored fairly quickly, moving from ‘I cannot wait for the Olympics to start!’ to ‘So, they’re just going to keep running all day, then?’ with surprising rapidity.

Then again, maybe I won’t.

In any case, I enjoyed this book.  It contains short, friendly chapters on each of the events in the 2012 Olympics.  It’s user-friendly, assumes no prior knowledge, and includes the use of adorable stick figures to illustrate some of its points.  It includes a brief history of the event, the basics of its rules, stories from the past and people to watch in this Olympics, and some fun photos.  It was great reading to build my enthusiasm for the Games.

The book seems to be written specifically for the 2012 Games, but the authors could probably do some revision and have a new edition for 2016, too.  And I hope they will, because it’s a fun read as well as a useful guide.

Written by Contented Reader

July 26, 2012 at 6:25 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

