Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

The Liminal People

leave a comment »

The Liminal People

Ayize Jama-Everett

Small Beer Press

I’ve spend the last several days enjoying The Liminal People.  It isn’t a book that would ordinarily take several days to read, but I’ve had a busy few days, and also, I’ve been slowing down to enjoy the book.

As I read it, I couldn’t help thinking that someone had missed a good bet in not signing a film contract with the author, because this book would make a kick-ass SF-action movie.

Hey, Will Smith!  Are you googling yourself today?  Of course you are.  I’ll bet movie stars spend lots of time googling themselves.  I would.

Will, you should read this book.  Or have ‘your people’ read it, if that’s how it works.  You’ll play the lead, obviously.  Taggert.  He’s a morally ambiguous character, an apparently good man who does very bad things.  He has the power to look inside a person’s body- he can see that tiny brain tumor, and he can heal it, or make it grow larger, or just redirect your stomach acid into your eyeballs if that’s what his boss wants done.  His boss is a very bad man, an African crime lord.  Maybe, if he had it to do over again, he wouldn’t have sold his soul to his boss.  But done is done,  and now he has to do the best he can in a situation he’ll never be free of.

There’s also a part for Willow.  You like finding movies to showcase your kids, right?  I have to admit that I’ve had ‘I Whip My Hair Back and Forth’ stuck in my head more often than I’d like.  Willow gets to play Tamara.  She’s the daughter of Taggert’s first and only true love.  The woman is out of Taggert’s life now, married to someone else, but when Tamara disappears and she calls on Taggert for help, Taggert will do whatever it takes to find and help the missing teenager.

Seriously, this is going to make a great movie.  There are good action scenes.  There’s a really scary villain, who has some reasonably scary minions and henchmen.  There’s good characters in an engaging human story, and a couple of really hot sex scenes.  You are going to make a zillion dollars.

Written by Contented Reader

July 28, 2012 at 9:42 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

