Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Kitty Goes to Washington

leave a comment »

Kitty Goes to Washington

Carrie Vaughn

Grand Central

I settled in on my couch.  The Olympics cross-country equestrian was scheduled to last all morning, I had a bag of cold peanut noodles and a pitcher of iced tea, and on my lap was Kitty Goes to Washington.

This is how I like to watch sports: with a book to read during the commercials, to provide a pleasant shift of attention.  You can read a surprising amount, during the five-minute commercial breaks of a sporting event.

It’s been a long time since I’ve enjoyed an urban fantasy novel this much.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve been as happy to gobble up the next volume of an urban fantasy series since Laurell Hamilton disappointed me by switching Anita Blake mid-series from urban fantasy to romance.  Sigh.  I miss you, Anita Blake, hardboiled vampire hunter.  Anita Blake, werewolf slut just isn’t nearly as much fun for me.

This is the second book in this series that I’ve read, and I enjoyed it even more than the first one.  In this volume, Kitty Norville, werewolf DJ, has taken her supernatural call-in show on the road when she is summoned to Washington to testify before a Congressional committee on werewolves, vampires, and what the nation’s response should be to an issue that it has only recently become aware of.  Kitty meets a variety of amusing characters, including a sexy Brazilian ambassador who is also a were-jaguar, a right-wing senator who suspects that Kitty is an agent of Satan, and a shadowy conspiracy.  It’s all good fun.  I hope the third volume is as good, because I’ll be looking for it at the library in the near future.

Written by Contented Reader

August 10, 2012 at 8:21 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

