Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Free ebooks

leave a comment »

  • The Iliad, by Homer.  This and The Odyssey were the foundation of a good education for a very, very, very long time.  They’re still required reading for educated people.
  • The Battle of Life: A Love Story, by Charles Dickens.  Wait… I’m a reasonably well-read person.  How is there a work of Charles Dickens that I haven’t even heard of?  I had to look it up.  It’s a Christmas novella.  Not very well known, so at least I’m not completely ignorant.

…and that’s about all this week.  That’s okay.  I have lots of books on my Reader.  And on my bookshelf.  I don’t actually need giant piles of new books to read constantly.

And yet, I do.  What a complex thing the inside of my mind is.  A maze of twisty passages, all alike.

Written by Contented Reader

September 12, 2012 at 6:07 am

Posted in Project Gutenberg

Comment

