Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Gone Girl

leave a comment »

Gone Girl

Gillian Flynn

Random House

One of the reasons I belong to a book club is I like the going to it.  I like leaving work and having a simple, quiet dinner with a good book in a midrange Italian restaurant.  I like spending a happy hour waiting for book club to start, browsing among the books or settling on a bench with a magazine.  I like getting together with people I don’t know that well, people whose names, for the most part, I can’t remember, and having an unimportant conversation.  I like not being in charge.

Sometimes I don’t like being in a book club, because I’m not always good at judging how much or how little to talk.  Am I being pushy, or sullen?  Am I making room for other people to have different readings than mine?  Am I tolerant of people who are just wrong, or who didn’t read the book?  There are awkwardnesses.

One thing I like about belonging to a book club is reading books that are far outside what I might ordinarily have read.  I would never have picked up Gone Girl if it hadn’t been the book club’s choice.  I didn’t vote for it.  I voted for A Farewell to Arms.  But I did enjoy reading this nasty little psychological thriller, about a marriage gone terribly wrong.  I saw several of its ‘shocking’ twists and turns coming from several star systems away, but it did also succeed in surprising me once or twice.  The writing style was fun, especially the way Flynn creates distinctive narrative voices for her characters.

So, yeah, I read this book.  There aren’t any aliens or fairies in it, but it’s still pretty good.  I’ll probably keep my copy of it.  And I’ll enjoy having a laid-back, low-pressure chat about it at the book club meeting.  Maybe I’ll buy an Italian soda in the cafe.

Written by Contented Reader

October 18, 2012 at 6:48 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

