Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

A squee for Cat Valente, part 2

leave a comment »

The big day- Catherynne Valente’s visit to my school.

I didn’t start out as excited as I had hoped.  My students were so rotten yesterday that I didn’t trust them not to be obnoxious, and didn’t want to reward them with a treat like this, which, I feared, they wouldn’t appreciate anyway.  Pearls before swine, was my thought, and also, I got a shitty night’s sleep, full of nightmares.

Then the organizer, knowing how excited I was (and is it really so odd, an English teacher who is well-read and gets excited about books?  That makes me so sad), asked if I would introduce her.  My first instinct was to decline, but even though I was absurdly nervous, I said yes, because fear is a stupid reason to not do things.

So I brought my kids to the theater, and there she was, and I said hello and welcomed her and tried hard not to drip squee all over her, though I don’t think I succeeded.  I introduced her, and I was so nervous I was shaking, but that doesn’t mean I’m not glad.  It’s not such a bad thing, for my students to know I have feelings, and that a good writer is worth getting excited and nervous about.

And she was fabulous.  She talked about her experiences as a writer, and answered questions, and my students, bless every last one of them, asked good and thoughtful questions and were not obnoxious.  Then I got my copy of The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There signed, to put on the shelf with my new copy of Deathless and my unnecessary/totally necessary splurge copies of the Mira Grant books and read in my own sweet time and without rushing.  And then I went back to my room and we went back to writing in-class essays about A Wrinkle in Time.

I’m glad that happened.

Written by Contented Reader

October 20, 2012 at 8:20 am

Posted in True stories

Comment

