Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Skinny

leave a comment »

Skinny

Donna Cooner

Scholastic

Yay!  The new Scholastic box arrived in my classroom, and I had enough bonus points to order a lovely little stack of new junior-high books.  This one is brand new, and the Scholastic flyer made it look really appealing.  It was, too.  I predict my students will love it, which generally means, someone will steal it and I’ll have to buy another copy.

Ever is fifteen years old, and she weight 302 pounds.  ‘Skinny’ is the voice in her head, the one that’s constantly telling her what other people are thinking about her, what they’re saying behind her back, why she should be ashamed, why she should hate herself.  She hears Skinny’s voice like an enemy who’s always there.

Ever decides to have gastric bypass surgery.  The book is specific about what that’s like – it turns out that the author is a person who had the surgery herself.  Ever is losing weight, fast.  She can even imagine herself finally fulfilling her two dreams – going to a school dance with Jackson, and trying out for the school musical.

But no matter how much weight she loses, Skinny is still there, in her head, telling her she’ll always fail.

I really liked this book.  Gastric bypass surgery isn’t something I’m expecting to ever do, but the idea of a nasty voice in my head telling me things that are only going to make me miserable and probably aren’t even true?  That I can relate to.  I was cheering Ever on through the whole book, and occasionally urgently wanting to pull her aside and smack her on the side of the head.

I’ll just go add this to the bookshelf in my classroom now.

Written by Contented Reader

October 30, 2012 at 6:36 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

