Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Lion Dance

leave a comment »

“Lion Dance”

Vylar Kaftan

Escape Pod

Driving around town today, running errands, I was listening to “Lion Dance” on Escape Pod.  It’s a short story about two brothers in San Francisco’s Chinatown who, during a flu pandemic, decide to break quarantine in a lion costume to perform a traditional- well, sort of traditional – lion dance in the streets.  The story is narrated by the brother who takes the part of the lion’s ass.

There’s an ending, and a point, but the part I loved was the middle.  There was so much joy in the description of the lion dance that I couldn’t help grinning as I got out of the car and schlepped my groceries inside.  I’m going to remember this story the next time I’m tempted to use fear as a reason to not do things.

Written by Contented Reader

November 6, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Posted in Reviews

Comment

