Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Nine Princes in Amber

leave a comment »

n3285

Nine Princes in Amber

Roger Zelazny

Avon

Well, now I’ve read a book by Roger Zelazny.  I was reluctant to read it, because, from the cover, it looked like a ridiculous cliche.  I gave it a try, and… I’m not sure what I think yet.

It wasn’t as bad as it looked, I’ll say that for sure.  There were bits of it I quite liked.

I like libraries.  It makes me feel comfortable and secure to have walls of words, beautiful and wise, all around me.  I always feel better when I can see that there is something to hold back the shadows.

I liked that.  A person who can write that has me on his side.

I was thrown off by the weird blend of 1970s contemporary and high fantasy that was Corwin’s way of talking and interior monologuing.  But I liked the idea of Amber, and the potential involved in a universe in which any possible universe exists and can be visited by the characters.  I wonder if this series will explore that more?  I’d be on board for that.  I didn’t make it too far into the Riverworld series when I was a teenager but this idea reminds me of that, and makes me suddenly want to go back and read more of those books.

I think I need to get some more context regarding this writer, and why so many people consider him so important.  In the meantime, I’m up for reading the second book in this series.  I’ve just put it on hold at the library.

Written by Contented Reader

December 9, 2012 at 10:10 am

Posted in Reviews

Comment

