Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

We Are Pirates

leave a comment »

We Are Pirates

Daniel Handler

Bloomsbury, 2015We Are Pirates

I had a really rough professional development day today.  These training days can be really rough on a teacher.  I had high hopes for this one, because the subject was one we really did need training on, and the training could have been successful if it had been as simple as putting us in a room with the materials and letting us work with them together.  But the paid consultants doing the training weren’t familiar with the requirements of our district, and ended up spending most of the day training us in things we aren’t going to be allowed to use.  It was deeply frustrating.

On my lunch break, sitting in the nearby cemetery, looking at a murky pond and a cherry tree in flower, I did find myself cheering up as I read We Are Pirates.  It’s about Gwen, a fourteen-year-old who is angry at the world, and how she is punished with volunteer time at the nursing home, and how she, and her best friend Amber, and the old man, Errol, decide to steal a boat and run away to be pirates in the San Francisco Bay.

As I was eating my tuna and crackers and trying to get a break from my frustrating teacher training day, the idea of throwing everything away to be a pirate sounded pretty appealing, and I was pulled through the book, which I found had both a page-turning quality and literary merit.  I love Lemony Snicket.  Daniel Handler… every book I’ve read of his has come so close to being something I’d treasure as a favorite, but somehow just barely missed the mark for me.  I thought this time, he had finally hit it.

When I came home, with a headache and a bad case of the educational cynicism, I was looking forward to reading the ending, and finding out what happened to Gwen and Amber and Errol.  But several of the surprising twists were a little too surprising for me.  The book took some shockingly dark turns – I don’t know why I was shocked, as I know that Handler writes some dark, nasty stuff, but I was.  A few of the surprises seemed unfair, not consistent with the characters and the world he had given me.

I read all the way to the end, and this isn’t a book I could have put down, even after it became clear that it wasn’t going at all where I thought it was.  But it’s going to join the other Daniel Handler books in the collection of his works that were so damn close but just didn’t quite work for me.

Years ago, when Handler was touring for the last Series of Unfortunate Events book, I went to hear him speak.  I also stayed up until pretty nearly two in the morning to get him to sign my copy, which I have no regrets about even though my bedtime is usually a firm 9:30 PM.  He talked about a book that he was working on.  In the book he described, a man who is a modern pirate, from Somalia or some such place, develops a longing to be the kind of pirate one reads about in adventure stories.  I don’t know if that book would have worked any better for me.  I know that sometimes, a writer finds that a project just doesn’t work out, and he has to go back to the drawing board.  And probably that book would also have been a near miss for me.  But I regret that I didn’t get to read it.

I wouldn’t write about this book if I hadn’t liked it.  I try to only write about books I like and want to share – why tell anyone about a book I didn’t like?  I debated whether to write about this one, or not.  Ultimately, even though it pissed me off a little, I can’t deny that I couldn’t stop reading it and that I won’t soon forget it.

I have a second day of training tomorrow, and I expect it’ll be just as bad as the first.  I’ll need a different book, to take to the cemetery with me.  Wish me luck.

Written by Contented Reader

May 4, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Comment

