Contented Reader

just point me toward the nearest library

Books are magic

leave a comment »

When I say that books are magic, I don’t just mean that as some sort of pretty metaphor.  I’m completely literal here.  Books are magic.

I can scratch some basic shapes – just lines and curves – and put a thought directly into the brain of anyone who sees them.  They don’t have to be in the room with me, or even on the same continent.  Just those little shapes give the power of telepathy to anyone who cares to use it.  Draw enough of them, and you can cause your telepathic receiver to hallucinate huge, epic stories, or transmit wisdom, or skill, or joy.

Not only do books allow ordinary humans to experience telepathic power, they also are the best form of time travel we have access to.  On my bookshelf, I have a copy of the Epic of Gilgamesh.  Do you know how bizarrely, fantastically long ago that book was written?  I have zero context from which to imagine what it would have been like to live in 2100 BC.  But I open the book, and there I am – in telepathic contact, mind-to-mind, with a real human being who lived 4000 years ago.  I am communicating with the dead.

Absolutely and perfectly literally, I have the power to read minds, travel in time, and communicate with the dead, as long as I’m holding a book.

Now tell me that ‘books are magic’ is a metaphor.

Written by Contented Reader

January 24, 2016 at 6:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Comment

